Evoque Owners Club banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4,206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: I'm a scientist and a statistics nerd and love playing with data to determine what can be found.
Background: The Evoque is my work car, thus I keep a log of all kilometres travelled, fuel costs, etc. I log all this informationin a spreadsheet, and also capture the average speed and fuel consumption* inbetween each re-fuelling (*fuel consumption is calculated and NOT from the Evoque trip computer).

Aim: To determine the average speed that offers bestfuel consumption.

Methods/Materials: Evoque, spreadsheet, diesel.

Results: 21,111 km travelled in 18 months, 32 re-fuels.

Average speed: 43km/h (27 mph), range 35 - 69km/h (22 - 43 mph).

Average consumption: 8.5L/100km (33 mpg), range 7.7 - 9.6L/100km (37 - 29 mpg).

Mostly city/urban driving (~75%) with balance on freeways/motorways (~25%).

There is a linear relationship between speed andfuel consumption when travelling at average speedsbetween 35-60 km/h. When travelling at >60km/h, there is no improvement in fuel consumption.

Conclusion: To obtain the lowest fuel consumption, maintain an average speed of ~60km/h (37 mph).

Edited by: Evoque Down Under

·
Registered
219 Posts
Sorry Down Under but felt the need to balance this.........

Disclaimer: I'm a bloke going through a mid-life crisis

Background: The Evoque is the car I chose as it looks pretty neat, fuel consumption is not something that I bother about, if it was I would have bought one of those stupid Eco friendly monstrosities that would be written off every time I ran over wildlife.

Aim: to drive a car that looks cool, can shift itself and laugh at other road users stuck in the snow.

Methods/Materials: Evoque, Diesel, Lead Boot

Results: On 2nd Evoque, first one broke
Average Speed: average
Average Consumption: Don't know but getting loads of Nectar points at filling station.