Evoque Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, newbie here!

I've got a 2016 RR Evoque HSE Dynamic with a leak. It gets wet and drips all in the headlining and down the strut. In the time I waited for an appointment at my dealer (Guy Salmon, Northampton) it got worse and spread from just above the driver sun visor all along across the electrics in the middle and to above the passenger side.

Dealer looked at it on Friday and said its the windscreen seal so they need to pop out the windscreen, replace the seal and then put it back in again and for that it will cost £150 + VAT.

However.... they said that if in the process of getting it out the windscreen breaks or is damaged, I am liable for it and have to pay £800 ish for a new one....!!!!

(The car is no longer under warranty, it ran out in Februrary)

I think this is unacceptable. If I took my vehicle in for a service and they scratched it they are liable for the damage so how is this any different??

What's your views please?

Thanks!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
In addition to this, just to add; i've owned the vehicle from new, never had a windscreen replaced. I'm p'd off that its leaking in the first place cause the car is only 3.5 yrs old. It shouldn't happen.

·
Super Moderator
2,437 Posts
You're not the first with a leak, its unfortunate, but some dealers will play the warranty has expired with no help whatsoever, others may help with the cost or reduce the labour.

Sounds like you need a good stonechip in the drivers view... then claim on your glass policy!

Reactions: Bazz and Maffy

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I did think of that [MENTION=140]philSkill but when they replace the glass, would they do the whole seal/frame?

·
Super Moderator
2,437 Posts