Evoque Owners Club banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: This is by no means a matter of right and wrong, however merely a description of some observations which I noticed. I have extensive knowledge of beamers, their cameras, modules and how things work. So, using that knowledge and putting my scientist inquisitive nature, this thread is written so that you understand why reverse camera or front bumper cameras can go foggy / stop working.

Background: I have bought MY2015 and gave it an extensive wash. By doing so, the rear camera developed a foggy image and started cutting. I have researched these issues online and found that some owners had new cameras fitted and developed issues after some time. This means that new cameras are not error-proof.

FAQs / Questions which you’d like to ask:
  • Why does the reverse camera become foggy?
  • Is there a design fault and if yes, can you explain it?
  • Can I replace the rear camera myself?
  • Can I do something so that I do not develop this fault again?
  • Is the dynamic lines part of the camera or part of the software on the car?
  • Can I ask the dealer to follow these instructions?
I will try and cover these things and hopefully, they will help you.
  • Why does the reverse camera become foggy?
So essentially, the design allows water to ingress into the camera body. And CMOS (complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor) sensor develops limescale on it.
I have opened my camera and found the CMOS sensor covered in limescale.

Image to show where the camera sits in the housing.

• Is there a design fault and if yes, can you explain it?
Potentially! The issue is two-folded.
A) The camera body is held with 4 hex screws and there is a rubber seal which sits between the body of the camera and the cover. Over time (and with water ingress), this rubber becomes stiff and start wearing out.