Evoque Owners Club banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2016, Evoque HSE Dynamic Lux
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

Newbie here with an Evoque (and happy), plate of Nov 2016.
Can anyone tell me if the SIM card slot accepts a Data-only SIM card or also works with a hybrid call/data SIM card? I tried with an EE Hybrid and didn't work, said Reading SIM but nothing happened.

Just want to know if I bought a car with a busted connectivity or SIM slot. If it's just Data-only SIM then I'll get one tomorrow. I am taking the ferry to Santander and then driving down to Lisbon so would be nice to be able to update the SatNav and get live updates.

Many thanks,
RB

·
Registered
2017 HSE Dynamic Lux in Aintree Green, Surround and Park Assist, Heated Wheel
333 Posts
I have a data only SIM and I think it has to be one of those type to work.

Certainly worth trying ad they are pretty cheap (free) to get and try out before worrying about the connector being broken :)

·
Registered
27 Posts
3 do a 200mb a month free sim. I never got mine to work but there are reports in this forum of people who use got it working.
I also used a BT sim that came out of my iPhone and it worked perfectly.

·
Registered
333 Posts
3 do a 200mb a month free sim. I never got mine to work but there are reports in this forum of people who use got it working.
I got my 200Mb free Three SIM to work. It was a pain and you need to register it in an iPad (or similar) and set it to 3G as well as one other possible setting change.

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
Buy the three data only sim from amazon.
12 months with 12GB for around £30 (bigger data allowances are available).
Plug and play straight from the card with no registering or messing around.
Works in Europe too.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks everyone for sharing your thoughts, I'll probably reply to some of you quoting and ask for some clarification.

Cheers,
RB

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·